Posted in It's All By Faith

Why Is God Taking So Long? || HE Has His Reasons

Has the thought of “Why is God taking so long to bless me” ever come to your mind before? I know it has in my mind several times in the past 5 years since being in His presence.

80010981_01_l

I’m pretty sure it comes especially to the mind of those of us who have really been living in obedience to the Word of God, living righteously and by faith in action. Throughout the bible, we read of the heroes of faith in the past being blessed by God for using there faith. For me it sometimes seems as if God didn’t take too long to bless them, however, I read a bible verse in the book of Joshua that made me think otherwise.

I was reading Joshua chapter 11, how he conquered the lands that we today know as Israel. The chapter only has 23 verses and it summarized how he conquered the lands through various battles and at first glance by reading this short chapter, I believe most of us would think that it took a short time to do what they did, since they had God on their side but then I came to this verse:

Joshua made war a long time with all those kings. Joshua 11:18 NKJV

Keywords: LONG & TIME

Then after reading that verse I continued to read chapter 12, this chapter stated the kings and the lands of which Joshua and the children of Israel conquered.

What amazed me was that in the beginning of chapter 11, the bible talks about the king of Hazor assembling with other kings to fight against Israel then in chapter 12 it lists how many more kings Joshua and the children of Israel had to conquer after that battle against the king of Hazor before the promise of God was fulfilled of them having their own land.

8 more king to be exact; not to mention the list of kings they had to battle before facing king of Hazor. All together they battle against 31 kings. MAAAAAAAAAAAAAATTTTTTEEEEE! That must have been long lool

Then the verse above made so much more sense to me. I realized something very important about the God of the bible. He will never give His children or those who believe in Him a blessing too quickly or before the right time. 

You may be fighting for a blessing in your life right now, praying, fasting, sacrificing etc… and you may be thinking it is taking too long, why isn’t God blessing me now? I’m going to give up if He doesn’t bless me now!

only-child-problems-sharing-main

Don’t be immature!

The God of the bible loves us & more importantly, more than the material blessings, He wants us to be with Him in Heaven one day.

I believe the reason why He holds back our blessing (even though like Joshua, we are fighting hard, praying, fasting, sacrificing and living righteously; and even though He could bless us just like that) because while we are praying, fasting, sacrificing, living by faith in His word etc… what are we doing in the process?

We are investing in our relationship with Him and therefore not allowing our faith to become complacent. YES OR NO?

We are drawing closer and closer to Him through our daily sacrificing, showing to Him our loyalty/trust and keeping ourselves on the lordside.

If God gave us the blessing just like that, come on, we all know that we would not value it as much, and on top of that our dependency and relationship with God will grow lukewarm or even worst cold within weeks.

LUKEWARM

I myself have been praying and fasting for a specific blessing to happen in my life since August 2013. Many time I have been thinking to myself, why is God taking so long, He knows my heart, my intention etc… But when I looked back over the past 9 month and realized how much I have learned & mature in my faith, relationship with God and that specific area of my life I have been praying for I think to my self:

“It was God’s plan all along to help me mature and develop into a stronger version of myself and above all to keep me in His presence.”

Keep praying, keep fasting, keep sacrificing, keep living by faith. The God of the bible doesn’t fail to honour His word.

So the Lord gave to Israel all the land he had sworn to give their ancestors, and they took possession of it and settled there. And the Lord gave them rest on every side, just as he had solemnly promised their ancestors. None of their enemies could stand against them, for the Lord helped them conquer all their enemies. Not a single one of all the good promises the Lord had given to the family of Israel was left unfulfilled; everything he had spoken came true. Joshua 21:43-45 NLT

Time will come to past anyways!

You might as well spend that time fighting and living by faith like the many examples in the bible who not only conquered there blessing but also died in the presence of God, with their salvation.

I could continue but this post is already long enough, I think i should start posting video post lol

Check out these posts:  Work Hard, Be Patient & Trust In God || Focus On The Goal || Trusting With All Your Heart || The Two Types Of Faith || Make Time Now || The Time Is Now

Author:

I Am Determined To Become My True Self & Support You Do The Same 😃

Leave a comment